Embracing the Child Within

I sometimes wish that I never had to grow up. I wish I could be a kid forever, being carefree with no responsibilities. But unfortunately that is only a dream. I grew up, I have a family and many, many responsibilities.

But that doesn’t mean that I can’t still have fun and have carefree moments. I have found that I really don’t know how to relax and have fun. I don’t know how to let my hair down and be carefree. I’m wound up tight, and that’s not healthy.

So I have made a conscious decision to have more fun. I started doing the hula hoop again. Besides being a good way to exercise, it takes me back to my childhood, playing on the terrace for hours. We would have contests seeing who could do it the longest. I haven’t had a contest yet but I have fun reliving that moment from my childhood.

I have also started jumping rope, another form of exercise so yes I am multitasking ,but I’m also having fun, sort of. I don’t remember it being so hard. But I also was much smaller but that’s a whole ‘nother post. It’s cool having flashbacks of the fun had as a child jumping rope with friends, while ignoring the laughter from son who is watching me struggle.

I went to the art store recently and purchased some colored pencils, sketch book etc, and I get lost in drawing, coloring and creating. It calms my spirit, and helps me realize how play time can be just as important to adults as well as children. It allows me to not always take myself so seriously and also how to laugh at myself when I can’t get something right.  But you won’t catch me playing tag football any time soon, I do realize the limitations on this body of mine.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

One thought on “Embracing the Child Within

Leave a Reply

