Health First

I am the worst patient.  When I do decide to go to the doctor for a checkup, I don’t always follow the instructions given.  If something doesn’t bother me, or if there is nothing broken, what’s the point.  I also realize I have a high threshold for pain, and if something didn’t knock me flat on my back, I ignored it.  My thought was, ‘Oh, it’s just a little limp,” and I’d change-up my walk and make it look like swagger.  At least that used to be my mindset.

Since focusing on being healthier, I’ve decided to take the advice of my doctor more seriously.  I took my physical recently and have followed up on the instructions and medications prescribed by the doctor.  Amazingly 41 years of abusing my body, smoking, unhealthy eating habits and a 3 bottle per day 16 oz or more Pepsi consumption, and my only major health issue is a vitamin D deficiency.  I am not surprised about this news because I have had this problem for at least 2 years, but have ignored my doctor’s advice to sit in the sun and take vitamins.  No, I’m not a vampire, I really just hate the sun.  But I’m trying to change that thought pattern.  So every day I take my vitamin D and catch a few rays, which is hard to do in the gray days of winter.

I have been researching healthier living, and while I have come across some new information I realize that a lot of things I already knew and just ignored.  So now I’m trying to put my knowledge to use.  I drink more water, at least 30 oz per day, no more sodas either.  I have increased my fruit intake, at least 3 servings per day.  I am also incorporating more vegetables into my diet.  I am eating less red meat, which really wasn’t that hard to do.  I am also cooking more, choosing healthier sides and fresh ingredients.

I am still a work in progress.  There are many healthier foods that I have yet to be open enough to try, like kiwi, fish, or zucchini just to name a few.  I also haven’t gotten rid of my addiction to cheese popcorn, candy and chocolate.  But as I continue to embark on this natural, holistic journey I find that I am making better choices and putting my health first,

One thought on “Health First

Leave a Reply

