Sisters

“If you don’t understand how a woman could both love her sister dearly and want to wring her neck at the same time, then you were probably an only child.”

— Linda Sunshine

Having an older sister can be a blessing and a curse.  You hate and love them at the same time.  Depending on the age difference they will either be your best friend or your worse enemy.  My sister and I are only 4 years apart.  When we were younger that age difference was huge.  She thought because she was older she was my second mom.  And boy was she bossy, (she still is but shhh).  Because she was older she thought she had the right to tell me what to do, when to do it and how to do it.  That caused a whole lot of arguments and fights between us.  At times I hated her guts and wondered out loud and often, why couldn’t I have been an only child.

Even though we fought often and called each other names, telling each other how much we hated each other, (that was mostly me, I am the one with the dramatic flair), no one else could dare talk about me.  My sister would be ready to fight anyone who bothered me.  She could call me every nasty name in the book, but no one else had that right. She was my protector, and still is.

As we got older, the age difference really didn’t matter any more.  She became  my confidant, the person I run ideas past, my fashion coordinator, because that really isn’t my forte, my personal shopper, my editor, my everything.   As we aged, she became my best friend.  Don’t get me wrong, at times we don’t see eye to eye, and most times we can agree to disagree.  Sometimes we may have to pause and take a break from each other, go off to our own corners and cool off, but at the end of the day, I know she has my back and I have hers.  I wouldn’t trade her in for the world.

2 thoughts on “Sisters

Leave a Reply

