Book Lovers

????????????????????????

I am an avid reader. It’s one of my joys and pleasures. My idea of a good day would be a rainy day curled up on the couch reading an intriguing book, with my son curled up on the chaise lounge doing the exact same thing.  Another good day would be our monthly book shopping spree.  Once a month my son and I go to the huge Barnes and Nobles in our borough and spend at least an hour browsing the racks and tables.  And every time we go we set a goal for how many books and magazines we each can get, and every time we exceed that amount.  But that’s one expense that I don’t mind paying.

I think it is really wonderful that my son enjoys reading as much as I do.  Boys have such a negative reputation in regards to reading, but so far we haven’t had that problem.  Maybe it has to do with the fact that I read to him since he was in the womb.  Or that as a baby I read him a story before bed.  As he got older we would read stories together, or he would read to me.  One of our favorite in-house activities is cutting off the television and reading, sharing interesting tidbits or sections out loud to the other.

Since I never stuck to just children stories, I also exposed my son to many different genres — history, myths, biographies and my all time favorite — poetry.  My son has embraced poetry with open arms, purchasing three books of poetry on our last excursion.  We have the most fun reading poetry to ech other,  Our home library is filled with a wonderful selection of books and continues to grow every year.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

Leave a Reply

