The Little Things

Yesterday I picked my 10 year old son up from school. Realizing that he had a light homework load, I decided to do something different. First we went to a barbershop for a shape up, then off to a neighborhood diner for dinner.

It wasn’t a real spectacular event, just different. Its rare that we go out on a school night. We ordered dinner and just talked. We touched on a whole bunch of subjects: school, his birthday which is approaching soon, girls, among other things. There was no rushing, no sense of urgency, just mother and son enjoying a meal and each other’s company.

Later that night, after we returned home and continued our regular school night routine, my son came to me before he got in bed and told me today was one of the best days in his life. My heart swelled with happiness. My son, at the age of 10, already realizing what’s important in life, spending quality time with your loved ones.

One thought on “The Little Things

Leave a Reply

